Subsection 2.—Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The General Assembly elected Sept. 1, 1959 is the 49th in the history of Prince Edward Island Legislatures and the 24th since Confederation. It has 30 members from 15 electoral districts who serve for a statutory term of five years. One-half of the members of the Legislative Assembly are elected on a property vote. Each district elects one Councillor (elected on a property vote) and one Assembly member (elected on a general franchise vote).

The annual salary of the Premier is \$6,000 and that of a Cabinet Minister \$4,000. Each member of the Assembly is paid \$1,450 for each session attended by him and an additional \$500 tax free as indemnity for expenses incurred. The Speaker is paid an additional \$400 and a further additional \$200 tax free as an indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional \$800 and a further additional \$200 tax free for expenses incurred by him in performance of official duties.

16.—Lieutenant-Governors of Prince Edward Island since Confederation, 1873-1959

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission	
Hon, William Robinson Hon, Sir Robert Hodgson. Hon, Thomas H. Havilland. Hon, Andrew Archibald Macdonald Hon, Jedediah S. Carvell. Hon, George W. Howlan. Hon, P. A. McIntyre. Hon, D. A. Mackinnon. Hon, Barjamin Rogers.	July 4, 1874 July 10, 1879 July 18, 1884 Sept. 2, 1889 Feb. 21, 1894 May 23, 1899 Oct. 3, 1904	Hon, A. C. Macdonald Hon, Murdock McKinnon Hon, Frank R. Heartz Hon, Charles Dalton Hon, George D. DeBlois Hon, Baapford W. LePage Hon, J. A. Bernard Hon, T. W. Prowse Hon, T. W. Prowse	Sept. 2, 1919 Sept. 8, 1923 Nov. 19, 1930 Dec. 28, 1933 Sept. 11, 1933 May 18, 1944 Oct. 4, 1950	

17.—Premiers of Prince Edward Island since Confederation, 1873-1959

Ministry	Name	Date of Formation of Ministry	Ministry	Name	Date of Formation of Ministry
1	Hon. J. C. POPE		14	Hon. J. H. Bell	Sept. 9, 1919
2	Hon. L. C. OWEN		15	Hon, James D. Stewart	
3	Hon. L. H. DAVIES		16	Hon. Albert C. Saunders.	
4	Hon. W. W. SULLIVAN		17	Hon. WALTER M. LEA	May 20, 1930
5	Hon. N. McLEOD	November 1889	18	Hon. JAMES D. STEWART	Aug. 29, 1931
6	Hon. F. Peters	Apr. 27, 1891	19	Hon, WILLIAM J. P.	
7	Hon. A. B. WARBURTON			MACMILLAN	Oct. 14, 1933
8	Hon. D. FARQUHARSON	August 1898	20	Hon. WALTER M. LEA	Aug. 15, 1935
9	Hon. A. Peters	Dec. 29, 1901	21	Hon. THANE A. CAMPBELL	Jan. 14, 1936
10	Hon. F. L. HASZARD	Feb. 1, 1908	22	Hon. J. WALTER JONES	May 11, 1943
11	Hon, H. JAMES PALMER	May 16, 1911	23	Hon. ALEXANDER W.	
12	Hon. John A. Mathieson.	Dec. 2, 1911		MATHESON	May 25, 1953
13	Hon, AUBIN E. ARSENAULT.		24	Hon. WALTER R. SHAW	

18.—Legislatures of Prince Edward Island, 1935-59, as at Oct. 31, 1959

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 75, and for 1924-35 in the 1938 edition, p. 110.

Date of Election	Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution
July 23, 1935	18th	5	Sept. 25, 1935	Apr. 21, 1939
May 18, 1939		4	Mar. 20, 1940	Aug. 20, 1943
Sept. 15, 1943		4	Feb. 15, 1944	Oct. 27, 1947
Dec. 11, 1947		5	Feb. 24, 1948	Mar. 30, 1951
Apr. 26, 1955		6	Oct. 23, 1951	Apr. 27, 1955
Sept. 1, 1959		4	Feb. 2, 1956	Aug. 3, 1959

¹ Legislature not yet in session at Oct. 31, 1959.